Brooklyn Dodgers no-hitters

Nap Rucker Brooklyn Dodgers baseball card
Nap Rucker Brooklyn Dodgers baseball card.
The Brooklyn Dodgers, who played under several other nicknames during their time in New York, threw 13 no-hitters before moving to Los Angeles in 1958.

The franchise debuted in the American Association in 1884 as the Brooklyn Atlantics and juggled through a series of name changes that included the Brooklyn Grays, the Brooklyn Bridegrooms, the Brooklyn Grooms, the Brooklyn Superbas, the Brooklyn Trolley Dodgers and the Brooklyn Robins. The team finally settled on the Brooklyn Dodgers name for the 1932 season.

The Dodgers’ franchise has actually thrown 25 no-hitters throughout its history – tops in the majors – and that list can be viewed here. The list of the 13 no-nos thrown during the team’s tenure in Los Angeles can be seen here.

Although Hall of Famer Sandy Koufax began his career in Brooklyn, his four no-hitters came in the 1962, 1963, 1964 and 1965 seasons after the move to L.A.

Here is the list of the team’s no-hitters thrown during its time in Brooklyn:

1 Sam Kimber
  Brooklyn Atlantics (AA)
  Saturday, October 4, 1884
Brooklyn Atlantics 0, Toledo Blue Stockings 0 (10 innings)
Washington Park (Brooklyn)
(This game is classified as a 10-inning no-hitter despite ending in a 0-0 tie.)
2 Adonis Terry
  Brooklyn Grays (AA)
  Saturday, July 24, 1886
Brooklyn Grays 1, St. Louis Browns 0
Washington Park (Brooklyn)
(His first of two no-hitters)
3 Adonis Terry
  Brooklyn Bridegrooms (AA)
  Sunday, May 27, 1888
Brooklyn Bridegrooms 4, Louisville Colonels 0
Ridgewood Park (Brooklyn)
(His second of two no-hitters)
4 Tom Lovett
  Brooklyn Grooms (NL)
  Monday, June 22, 1891
Brooklyn Grooms 4, New York Giants 0
Eastern Park (Brooklyn)
5 Mal Eason
  Brooklyn Superbas (NL)
  Friday, July 20, 1906
Brooklyn Superbas 2, St. Louis Cardinals 0
Robison Field (St. Louis)
6 George Napoleon "Nap" Rucker
  Brooklyn Superbas (NL)
  Saturday, September 5, 1908 (Second game of doubleheader)
Brooklyn Superbas 6, Boston Doves 0
Washington Park (Brooklyn)
7 Charles "Dazzy" Vance
  Brooklyn Robins (NL)
  Sunday, September 13, 1925 (First game of doubleheader)
Brooklyn Robins 10, Philadelphia Phillies 1
Ebbets Field (Brooklyn)
8 James "Tex" Carleton
  Brooklyn Dodgers (NL)
  Tuesday, April 30, 1940
Brooklyn Dodgers 3, Cincinnati Reds 0
Crosley Field (Cincinnati)
9 Ed Head
  Brooklyn Dodgers (NL)
  Tuesday, April 23, 1946
Brooklyn Dodgers 5, Boston Braves 0
Ebbets Field (Brooklyn)
10 Rex Barney
  Brooklyn Dodgers (NL)
  Thursday, September 9, 1948
Brooklyn Dodgers 2, New York Giants 0
Polo Grounds (New York)
11 Carl Erskine
  Brooklyn Dodgers (NL)
  Thursday, June 19, 1952
Brooklyn Dodgers 5, Chicago Cubs 0
Ebbets Field (Brooklyn)
(His first of two no-hitters)
12 Carl Erskine
  Brooklyn Dodgers (NL)
  Saturday, May 12, 1956
Brooklyn Dodgers 3, New York Giants 0
Ebbets Field (Brooklyn)
(His second of two no-hitters)
13 Sal Maglie
  Brooklyn Dodgers (NL)
  Tuesday, September 25, 1956
Brooklyn Dodgers 5, Philadelphia Phillies 0
Ebbets Field (Brooklyn)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The online home for baseball's no-hitters