Senators and Twins patches

Minnesota Twins/Washington Senators no-hitters

The Minnesota Twins franchise, which began American League play as the Washington Senators in 1901 and spent 60 years in the nation’s capital before moving to Minneapolis, has thrown seven no-hitters.

Walter Johnson
Walter Johnson
The great Walter Johnson threw the franchise’s first no-no, and Bobby Burke and Jack Kralick also threw no-hitters for the Senators. Dean Chance threw the first Minnesota Twins no-hitter, and he was followed by Scott Erickson, Eric Milton and Francisco Liriano.

Here are the Twins/Senators no-hitters:

1 Walter Johnson
  Washington Senators (AL)
  Thursday, July 1, 1920
Washington Senators 1, Boston Red Sox 0
Fenway Park (Boston)
2 Bobby Burke
  Washington Senators (AL)
  Saturday, August 8, 1931
Washington Senators 5, Boston Red Sox 0
Griffith Stadium (Washington, D.C.)
3 Jack Kralick
  Minnesota Twins (AL)
  Sunday, August 26, 1962
Minnesota Twins 1, Kansas City Athletics 0
Metropolitan Stadium (Minneapolis)
4 Dean Chance
  Minnesota Twins (AL)
  Friday, August 25, 1967 (Second game of doubleheader)
Minnesota Twins 2, Cleveland Indians 1
Cleveland Stadium (Cleveland)
5 Scott Erickson
  Minnesota Twins (AL)
  Wednesday, April 27, 1994
Minnesota Twins 6, Milwaukee Brewers 0
Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome (Minneapolis)
6 Eric Milton
  Minnesota Twins (AL)
  Saturday, September 11, 1999
Minnesota Twins 7, Anaheim Angels 0
Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome (Minneapolis)
7 Francisco Liriano
  Minnesota Twins (AL)
  Tuesday, May 3, 2011
Minnesota Twins 1, Chicago White Sox 0
U.S. Cellular Field (Chicago)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The online home for baseball's no-hitters