No-hitters vs. the Boston Red Sox

The Boston Red Sox, an American League charter franchise first known simply as the Americans, have been no-hit 11 times since 1901. The Yankees no-hit the Red Sox three times, and the Senators and White Sox each did it twice.

Here are the no-hitters vs. the Red Sox:

1 Bob "Dusty" Rhoads
  Cleveland Naps (AL)
  Friday, September 18, 1908
Cleveland Naps 2, Boston Red Sox 1
League Park (Cleveland)
2 Ed Walsh
  Chicago White Sox (AL)
  Sunday, August 27, 1911
Chicago White Sox 5, Boston Red Sox 0
Comiskey Park (Chicago)
3 George Mogridge
  New York Yankees (AL)
  Tuesday, April 24, 1917
New York Yankees 2, Boston Red Sox 1
Fenway Park (Boston)
4 Walter Johnson
  Washington Senators (AL)
  Thursday, July 1, 1920
Washington Senators 1, Boston Red Sox 0
Fenway Park (Boston)
5 Ted Lyons
  Chicago White Sox (AL)
  Saturday, August 21, 1926
Chicago White Sox 6, Boston Red Sox 0
Fenway Park (Boston)
6 Bobby Burke
  Washington Senators (AL)
  Saturday, August 8, 1931
Washington Senators 5, Boston Red Sox 0
Griffith Stadium (Washington, D.C.)
7 Allie Reynolds
  New York Yankees (AL)
  Friday, September 28, 1951 (First game of doubleheader)
New York Yankees 8, Boston Red Sox 0
Yankee Stadium (New York)
(His second of two no-hitters)
8 Jim Bunning
  Detroit Tigers (AL)
  Sunday, July 20, 1958 (First game of doubleheader)
Detroit Tigers 3, Boston Red Sox 0
Fenway Park (Boston)
(His first of two no-hitters)
9 Tom Phoebus
  Baltimore Orioles (AL)
  Saturday, April 27, 1968
Baltimore Orioles 6, Boston Red Sox 0
Memorial Stadium (Baltimore)
10 Dave Righetti
  New York Yankees (AL)
  Monday, July 4, 1983
New York Yankees 4, Boston Red Sox 0
Yankee Stadium (New York)
11 Chris Bosio
  Seattle Mariners (AL)
  Thursday, April 22, 1993
Seattle Mariners 7, Boston Red Sox 0
Kingdome (Seattle)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The online home for baseball's no-hitters