Tag Archives: walter johnson

Hall of Famers Johnson, Feller, threw no-nos on this date

Walter Johnson
Walter Johnson
Hall of Famers Walter Johnson and Bob Feller threw no-hitters on this date.

On Thursday, July 1, 1920, Johnson no-hit the Boston Red Sox at Fenway Park for a 1-0 Washington Senators victory. Senators second baseman Bucky Harris could be considered both the hero and the goat in the game. He plated the only run with a seventh-inning RBI hit, but he also made an error that allowed the Red Sox’s only base runner to reach first, killing the chance for a perfecto.

A plaque celebrating Bob Feller's three no-hitters at the Bob Feller Museum in Van Meter, Iowa.
A plaque celebrating Bob Feller’s three no-hitters at the Bob Feller Museum in Van Meter, Iowa.
On July 1, 1951, during the first game of a Sunday doubleheader, Feller threw his last of three Cleveland Indians no-hitters. Facing the Tigers at Cleveland Stadium, Feller no-hit Detroit for a 2-1 win. No-no No. 3 tied Feller with Larry Corcoran and Cy Young for most career no-nos, a record that would be broken by Sandy Koufax (who threw his fourth in 1965) and shattered by Nolan Ryan, who finished his career with seven no-nos.

Mathewson, Johnson, 3 others voted into Hall, 80 years ago today

Two pitchers who threw no-hitters – Christy Mathewson, and Walter Johnson – were voted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame 80 years ago today.

Christy Mathewson and Walter Johnson
Christy Mathewson, left, and Walter Johnson are the Hall’s inaugural Class of 1936.
Mathewson and Johnson joined Ty Cobb, Babe Ruth and Honus Wagner as the Hall’s inaugural Class of 1936. The results were announced to the press four days after the vote.

The five ballplayers would have to wait until 1939 for official induction, as the facility in Cooperstown, New York had yet to be built.

Mathewson, who posted a career record of 373-188 over 17 seasons, threw two no-hitters for the New York Giants:

  • Monday, July 15, 1901
    New York Giants 5, St. Louis Cardinals 0
    Robison Field (St. Louis)
  • Tuesday, June 13, 1905
    New York Giants 1, Chicago Cubs 0
    West Side Park (Chicago)

Johnson, with a record of 417-279 over his 21-year career, threw one no-no for the Washington Senators:

  • Thursday, July 1, 1920
    Washington Senators 1, Boston Red Sox 0
    Fenway Park (Boston)

No-no birthdays for Walter Johnson, John Candelaria

Walter Johnson
Walter Johnson
Walter Johnson, a 400+ game winner who threw a 1920 no-hitter for the Washington Senators, was born 128 years ago today.

Johnson no-hit the Boston Red Sox at Fenway Park on Thursday, July 1, 1920, for a 1-0 victory. He finished out a 21-year Hall of Fame career with a record of 417-279.

Also born on this day is the Pittsburgh Pirates’ John Candelaria, who threw a no-hitter in 1976. The “Candy Man” no-hit the Los Angeles Dodgers at Three Rivers Stadium on Monday, August 9, 1976 for a 2-0 win. Wishing him a happy 62nd birthday!

#16, the Minnesota Twins

The NoNoHitters 30The Minnesota Twins franchise, which began American League play as the Washington Senators in 1901 and spent 60 years in the nation’s capital before moving to Minneapolis, has thrown seven no-hitters. That gives the Twins the No. 16 spot on our NoNoHitters 30 count down.

Walter Johnson
Walter Johnson
The great Walter Johnson threw the franchise’s first no-no, and Bobby Burke and Jack Kralick also threw no-hitters for the Senators. Dean Chance threw the first Minnesota Twins no-hitter, and he was followed by Scott Erickson, Eric Milton and Francisco Liriano.

Here are the Twins/Senators no-hitters:

1 Walter Johnson
  Washington Senators (AL)
  Thursday, July 1, 1920
Washington Senators 1, Boston Red Sox 0
Fenway Park (Boston)
2 Bobby Burke
  Washington Senators (AL)
  Saturday, August 8, 1931
Washington Senators 5, Boston Red Sox 0
Griffith Stadium (Washington, D.C.)
3 Jack Kralick
  Minnesota Twins (AL)
  Sunday, August 26, 1962
Minnesota Twins 1, Kansas City Athletics 0
Metropolitan Stadium (Minneapolis)
4 Dean Chance
  Minnesota Twins (AL)
  Friday, August 25, 1967 (Second game of doubleheader)
Minnesota Twins 2, Cleveland Indians 1
Cleveland Stadium (Cleveland)
5 Scott Erickson
  Minnesota Twins (AL)
  Wednesday, April 27, 1994
Minnesota Twins 6, Milwaukee Brewers 0
Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome (Minneapolis)
6 Eric Milton
  Minnesota Twins (AL)
  Saturday, September 11, 1999
Minnesota Twins 7, Anaheim Angels 0
Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome (Minneapolis)
7 Francisco Liriano
  Minnesota Twins (AL)
  Tuesday, May 3, 2011
Minnesota Twins 1, Chicago White Sox 0
U.S. Cellular Field (Chicago)

Here’s our list so far from 16 to 30:

No-hitters thrown by franchise

7 Minnesota Twins
  (Washington Senators)
7 Detroit Tigers
6 Pittsburgh Pirates
  (Pittsburgh Alleghenys)
5 Texas Rangers
5 Miami Marlins
5 Washington Nationals
4 Kansas City Royals
4 Seattle Mariners
2 Arizona Diamondbacks
1 Milwaukee Brewers
1 Toronto Blue Jays
1 Colorado Rockies
1 Tampa Bay Rays
  (Tampa Bay Devil Rays)
1 New York Mets
0 San Diego Padres

Top of post Photo by Eric Kilby