April 27, May and Sept. 30 have each had six no-hittersIf there’s going to be a San Diego Padres no-hitter this year, the best chances are on April 27 in Washington against the Nationals, May 15 in Cincinnati against the Reds or Sept. 20 at home against the San Francisco Giants.

Why? Each of those three days – April 27, May 15 or Sept. 20 – share the record for most no-hitters with six.

Throwing no-hitters on April 27 are Jim Tobin, one-time-Padre Tom Phoebus, Steve Busby, Scott Erickson, Derek Lowe and Kevin Milwood. The May 15 crew includes Claude Hendrix, Clyde Shoun, Virgil Trucks, Don Cardwell, Nolan Ryan and Len Barker.

Sept. 20 was good for Larry Corcoran, Jimmy “Nixey” Callahan, Nick Maddox, Frank Smith, Hoyt Wilhelm and Bob Moose.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.