The NoNoHitters 30As we hit the No. 24 spot in our NoNoHitters 30 countdown today, we finally reach teams that have thrown more than one no-hitter.

The Arizona Diamonbacks, which began play in the National League in 1998, have thrown two no-hitters. Randy Johnson is the only pitcher to throw the first no-hitter for two different franchises – the Seattle Mariners in 1990 and the D-Backs in 2004. His Arizona no-no was a perfect game, thrown at the age of 40.

Edwin Jackson had the D-Backs’ second no-no during an interleague game in 2010.

Here are the Diamondbacks’ no-nos:

1 Randy Johnson
  Arizona Diamondbacks (NL)
  Tuesday, May 18, 2004
Arizona Diamondbacks 2, Atlanta Braves 0
Turner Field (Atlanta)
(Perfect game, his second of two no-hitters; Johnson at age 40 becomes the oldest pitcher in major league history to hurl a perfect game. It’s the Diamondbacks’ first no-hitter.)
2 Edwin Jackson
  Arizona Diamondbacks (NL team in IL game)
  Friday, June 25, 2010
Arizona Diamondbacks 1, Tampa Bay Rays 0
Tropicana Field (St. Petersburg)

Here’s our list so far from 24 to 30:

No-hitters thrown by franchise

2 Arizona Diamondbacks
1 Milwaukee Brewers
1 Toronto Blue Jays
1 Colorado Rockies
1 Tampa Bay Rays
  (Tampa Bay Devil Rays)
1 New York Mets
0 San Diego Padres

Top of post Photo by Nick Bastian Tempe, AZ

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.