The NoNoHitters 30We’ve exhausted the teams with zero, one or two no-hitters, so we move now to a pair of teams with four no-nos.

The Seattle Mariners, No. 23 in our NoNoHitters 30 countdown, is an expansion team that began play in the American League in 1977.

Randy Johnson threw the Mariners’ first no-hitter in 1990, and Chris Bosio added one in 1993. The Mariners threw a combined no-no in 2012, beginning with six innings from Kevin Millwood and short relief stints by Charlie Furbush, Stephen Pryor, Lucas Luetge, Brandon League and Tom Wilhelmsen. Felix Hernandez threw a perfect game for the M’s later during the 2012 season.

Here are the Seattle Mariners’ no-hitters:

1 Randy Johnson
  Seattle Mariners (AL)
  Saturday, June 2, 1990
Seattle Mariners 2, Detroit Tigers 0
Kingdome (Seattle)
(His first of two no-hitters)
2 Chris Bosio
  Seattle Mariners (AL)
  Thursday, April 22, 1993
Seattle Mariners 7, Boston Red Sox 0
Kingdome (Seattle)
3 Kevin Millwood (6 inn.)
Charlie Furbush (2/3 inn.)
Stephen Pryor (1/3 inn.)
Lucas Luetge (1/3 inn.)
Brandon League (2/3 inn)
Tom Wilhelmsen (1 inn.)
  Seattle Mariners (IL)
  Friday, June 8, 2012
Seattle Mariners 1, Los Angeles Dodgers 0
Safeco Field (Seattle)
4 Felix Hernandez
  Seattle Mariners (AL)
  Wednesday, August 15, 2012
Seattle Mariners 1, Tampa Bay Rays 0
Safeco Field (Seattle)
(Perfect game)

Here’s our list so far from 23 to 30:

No-hitters thrown by franchise

4 Seattle Mariners
2 Arizona Diamondbacks
1 Milwaukee Brewers
1 Toronto Blue Jays
1 Colorado Rockies
1 Tampa Bay Rays
  (Tampa Bay Devil Rays)
1 New York Mets
0 San Diego Padres

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.