The NoNoHitters 30The No. 19 spot on our NoNoHitters 30 countdown belongs to the Texas Rangers, a team that began as an expansion club in 1961 as the second incarnation of the Washington Senators. The franchise has five no-hitters in its history – and all came after the club moved to Arlington, Texas in 1972.

The new Senators began play in the American League after the original Sens moved to Minneapolis to become the Minnesota Twins for the 1961 season. Jim Bibby threw the first Rangers no-hitter in 1973, and Bert Blyleven followed it up in 1977. Nolan Ryan had the next two – his sixth and seventh of his career – when he was into his 40s.

Kenny Rogers threw a perfect game for the Rangers in 1994.

Here are the Rangers’ no-hitters:

1 Jim Bibby
  Texas Rangers (AL)
  Monday, July 30, 1973
Texas Rangers 6, Oakland Athletics 0
Oakland–Alameda County Coliseum (Oakland)
2 Bert Blyleven
  Texas Rangers (AL)
  Thursday, September 22, 1977
Texas Rangers 6, California Angels 0
Anaheim Stadium (Anaheim)
3 Nolan Ryan
  Texas Rangers (AL)
  Monday, June 11, 1990
Texas Rangers 5, Oakland Athletics 0
Oakland–Alameda County Coliseum (Oakland)
(His sixth of seven no-hitters, adding to his major league record.
4 Nolan Ryan
  Texas Rangers (AL)
  Wednesday, May 1, 1991
Texas Rangers 3, Toronto Blue Jays 0
Arlington Stadium (Texas)
(His seventh of seven no-hitters, finalizing his major league record.)
5 Kenny Rogers
  Texas Rangers (AL)
  Thursday, July 28, 1994
Texas Rangers 4, California Angels 0
The Ballpark at Arlington (Texas)
(Perfect game)

Here’s our list so far from 19 to 30:

No-hitters thrown by franchise

5 Texas Rangers
5 Miami Marlins
5 Washington Nationals
4 Kansas City Royals
4 Seattle Mariners
2 Arizona Diamondbacks
1 Milwaukee Brewers
1 Toronto Blue Jays
1 Colorado Rockies
1 Tampa Bay Rays
  (Tampa Bay Devil Rays)
1 New York Mets
0 San Diego Padres

Top of post Photo by Rich Anderson

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.