The NoNoHitters 30The Philadelphia Phillies franchise, which began play in the National League in 1883 as the Philadelphia Quakers, has 12 no-hitters over its history to take the No. 9 position on our NoNoHitters 30 list. (Note: The team also tried to take on a new moniker of the Blue Jays in the 1940s, but it never caught on.)

Terry Mulholland jersey in the Hall of Fame's no-no exhibit.

Terry Mulholland jersey in the Hall of Fame’s no-no exhibit.

The Phillies experienced the longest no-hitter drought in major league history, with the team being void of a no-no for 58 years, 1 month, 18 days between 1906 and 1964. The 8,945-game-long streak began on May 3, 1906, one game after Phillies’ southpaw Johnny Lush threw a 6-0 no-hitter against the Brooklyn Superbas. It ended on June 21, 1964, when Jim Bunning threw a 6-0 perfect game against the New York Mets during a Father’s Day doubleheader at Shea Stadium.

Roy Halladay, who already threw one no-hitter in 2010, made history when he threw the first postseason no-hitter since Don Larsen’s World Series perfect game in 1956. Halladay blanked the Cincinnati Reds 4-0 in the Game 1 of the National League Divisional Series on October 6, 2010.

Here are the Philadelphia Phillies no-hitters:

1 Charlie Ferguson
  Philadelphia Quakers (NL)
  Saturday, August 29, 1885
Philadelphia Quakers 1, Providence Grays 0
Recreation Park (Philadelphia)
2 Frank "Red" Donahue
  Philadelphia Phillies (NL)
  Friday, July 8, 1898
Philadelphia Phillies 5, Boston Beaneaters 0
National League Park (Philadelphia)
3 Chick Fraser
  Philadelphia Phillies (NL)
  Friday, September 18, 1903 (Second game of doubleheader)
Philadelphia Phillies 10, Chicago Cubs 0
West Side Park (Chicago)
4 Johnny Lush
  Philadelphia Phillies (NL)
  Tuesday, May 1, 1906
Philadelphia Phillies 6, Brooklyn Superbas 0
Washington Park (Brooklyn)
5 Jim Bunning
  Philadelphia Phillies (NL)
  Sunday, June 21, 1964 (First game of doubleheader)
Philadelphia Phillies 6, New York Mets 0
Shea Stadium (Flushing)
(Perfect game, his second of two no-hitters; it ended a 58-year, 1-month, 18-day no-hitter drought for the Phillies, still the longest team drought for any franchise.)
6 Rick Wise
  Philadelphia Phillies (NL)
  Wednesday, June 23, 1971
Philadelphia Phillies 4, Cincinnati Reds 0
Riverfront Stadium (Cincinnati)
7 Terry Mulholland
  Philadelphia Phillies (NL)
  Wednesday, August 15, 1990
Philadelphia Phillies 6, San Francisco Giants 0
Veterans Stadium (Philadelphia)
8 Tommy Greene
  Philadelphia Phillies (NL)
  Thursday, May 23, 1991
Philadelphia Phillies 2, Montreal Expos 0
Olympic Stadium (Montreal)
9 Kevin Millwood
  Philadelphia Phillies (NL)
  Sunday, April 27, 2003
Philadelphia Phillies 1, San Francisco Giants 0
Veterans Stadium (Philadelphia)
10 Roy Halladay
  Philadelphia Phillies (NL)
  Saturday, May 29, 2010
Philadelphia Phillies 1, Florida Marlins 0
Sun Life Stadium (Miami)
(Perfect game, his first of two no-hitters)
11 Roy Halladay
  Philadelphia Phillies (NLDS Game 1)
  Wednesday, October 6, 2010
Philadelphia Phillies 4, Cincinnati Reds 0
Citizens Bank Park (Philadelphia)
(His second of two no-hitters in Game 1 of NLDS; the second postseason no-hitter in MLB history.)
12 Cole Hamels (6 inn.)
Jake Diekman (1 inn.)
Ken Giles (1 inn.)
Jonathan Papelbon (1 inn.)
  Philadelphia Phillies (NL)
  Monday, September 1, 2014
Philadelphia Phillies 7, Atlanta Braves 0
Turner Field (Atlanta)

Here’s our list so far from 9 to 30:

No-hitters thrown by franchise

12 Philadelphia Phillies
  (Philadelphia Quakers)
11 Oakland Athletics
  (Philadelphia Athletics/Kansas City Athletics)
11 New York Yankees
  (New York Highlanders/Baltimore Orioles)
11 Houston Astros
  (Houston Colt .45’s)
10 Los Angeles Angels
  (California Angels/Anaheim Angels)
10 St. Louis Cardinals
  (St. Louis Browns/St. Louis Perfectos)
9 Baltimore Orioles
  (Milwaukee Brewers/St. Louis Browns)
7 Minnesota Twins
  (Washington Senators)
7 Detroit Tigers
6 Pittsburgh Pirates
  (Pittsburgh Alleghenys)
5 Texas Rangers
5 Miami Marlins
5 Washington Nationals
4 Kansas City Royals
4 Seattle Mariners
2 Arizona Diamondbacks
1 Milwaukee Brewers
1 Toronto Blue Jays
1 Colorado Rockies
1 Tampa Bay Rays
  (Tampa Bay Devil Rays)
1 New York Mets
0 San Diego Padres

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.