Dodger Stadium

The NoNoHitters 30The Los Angeles Dodgers, who debuted in the American Association in 1884 as the Brooklyn Atlantics, have thrown 25 no-hitters throughout the franchise’s history – seven more than the Boston Red Sox and the Chicago White Sox. That gives the team the top spot in our NoNoHitters 30 countdown as we finally reach Opening Day 2015.

Adonis Terry, who threw Brooklyn's second and third no-hitters.

Adonis Terry, who threw Brooklyn’s second and third no-hitters.

The team has undergone a series of name changes throughout the years to the Brooklyn Grays, the Brooklyn Bridegrooms, the Brooklyn Grooms, the Brooklyn Superbas, the Brooklyn Trolley Dodgers and the Brooklyn Robins before finally settling on the Brooklyn Dodgers for the 1932 season. The team moved to California in 1958 and has been known as the Los Angeles Dodgers ever since.

The great Sandy Koufax tops the Dodgers’ no-hitter list with 4 no-nos, second only in the major leagues to Nolan Ryan’s seven no-hitters. The fourth of Koufax’s no-hitters was a perfect game.

Here is the list of no-hitters thrown by Dodgers’ pitchers:

1 Sam Kimber
  Brooklyn Atlantics (AA)
  Saturday, October 4, 1884
Brooklyn Atlantics 0, Toledo Blue Stockings 0 (10 innings)
Washington Park (Brooklyn)
(This game is classified as a 10-inning no-hitter despite ending in a 0-0 tie.)
2 Adonis Terry
  Brooklyn Grays (AA)
  Saturday, July 24, 1886
Brooklyn Grays 1, St. Louis Browns 0
Washington Park (Brooklyn)
(His first of two no-hitters)
3 Adonis Terry
  Brooklyn Bridegrooms (AA)
  Sunday, May 27, 1888
Brooklyn Bridegrooms 4, Louisville Colonels 0
Ridgewood Park (Brooklyn)
(His second of two no-hitters)
4 Tom Lovett
  Brooklyn Grooms (NL)
  Monday, June 22, 1891
Brooklyn Grooms 4, New York Giants 0
Eastern Park (Brooklyn)
5 Mal Eason
  Brooklyn Superbas (NL)
  Friday, July 20, 1906
Brooklyn Superbas 2, St. Louis Cardinals 0
Robison Field (St. Louis)
6 George Napoleon "Nap" Rucker
  Brooklyn Superbas (NL)
  Saturday, September 5, 1908 (Second game of doubleheader)
Brooklyn Superbas 6, Boston Doves 0
Washington Park (Brooklyn)
7 Charles "Dazzy" Vance
  Brooklyn Robins (NL)
  Sunday, September 13, 1925 (First game of doubleheader)
Brooklyn Robins 10, Philadelphia Phillies 1
Ebbets Field (Brooklyn)
8 James "Tex" Carleton
  Brooklyn Dodgers (NL)
  Tuesday, April 30, 1940
Brooklyn Dodgers 3, Cincinnati Reds 0
Crosley Field (Cincinnati)
9 Ed Head
  Brooklyn Dodgers (NL)
  Tuesday, April 23, 1946
Brooklyn Dodgers 5, Boston Braves 0
Ebbets Field (Brooklyn)
10 Rex Barney
  Brooklyn Dodgers (NL)
  Thursday, September 9, 1948
Brooklyn Dodgers 2, New York Giants 0
Polo Grounds (New York)
11 Carl Erskine
  Brooklyn Dodgers (NL)
  Thursday, June 19, 1952
Brooklyn Dodgers 5, Chicago Cubs 0
Ebbets Field (Brooklyn)
(His first of two no-hitters)
12 Carl Erskine
  Brooklyn Dodgers (NL)
  Saturday, May 12, 1956
Brooklyn Dodgers 3, New York Giants 0
Ebbets Field (Brooklyn)
(His second of two no-hitters)
13 Sal Maglie
  Brooklyn Dodgers (NL)
  Tuesday, September 25, 1956
Brooklyn Dodgers 5, Philadelphia Phillies 0
Ebbets Field (Brooklyn)
14 Sandy Koufax
  Los Angeles Dodgers (NL)
  Saturday, June 30, 1962
Los Angeles Dodgers 5, New York Mets 0
Dodger Stadium (Los Angeles)
(His first of four no-hitters)
15 Sandy Koufax
  Los Angeles Dodgers (NL)
  Saturday, May 11, 1963
Los Angeles Dodgers 8, San Francisco Giants 0
Dodger Stadium (Los Angeles)
(His second of four no-hitters)
16 Sandy Koufax
  Los Angeles Dodgers (NL)
  Thursday, June 4, 1964
Los Angeles Dodgers 3, Philadelphia Phillies 0
Connie Mack Stadium (Philadelphia)
(His third of four no-hitters, tying Larry Corcoran, Cy Young and Bob Feller.. Koufax would throw a fourth no-no to break the record in 1965.)
17 Sandy Koufax
  Los Angeles Dodgers (NL)
  Thursday, September 9, 1965
Los Angeles Dodgers 1, Chicago Cubs 0
Dodger Stadium (Los Angeles)
(Perfect game, his fourth of four no-hitters setting a new major league record, breaking the previous mark of three shared between him, Larry Corcoran, Cy Young and Bob Feller. The record would be tied by Nolan Ryan in 1975 and broken in 1981.)
18 Bill Singer
  Los Angeles Dodgers (NL)
  Monday, July 20, 1970
Los Angeles Dodgers 5, Philadelphia Phillies 0
Dodger Stadium (Los Angeles)
19 Jerry Reuss
  Los Angeles Dodgers (NL)
  Friday, June 27, 1980
Los Angeles Dodgers 8, San Francisco Giants 0
Candlestick Park (San Francisco)
20 Fernando Valenzuela
  Los Angeles Dodgers (NL)
  Friday, June 29, 1990
Los Angeles Dodgers 6, St. Louis Cardinals 0
Dodger Stadium (Los Angeles)
(With Stewart’s no hitter above, second time two have been thrown on same day.)
21 Kevin Gross
  Los Angeles Dodgers (NL)
  Monday, August 17, 1992
Los Angeles Dodgers 2, San Francisco Giants 0
Dodger Stadium (Los Angeles)
22 Ramon Martinez
  Los Angeles Dodgers (NL)
  Friday, July 14, 1995
Los Angeles Dodgers 7, Florida Marlins 0
Dodger Stadium (Los Angeles)
23 Hideo Nomo
  Los Angeles Dodgers (NL)
  Tuesday, September 17, 1996
Los Angeles Dodgers 9, Colorado Rockies 0
Coors Field (Denver)
(His first of two no-hitters)
24 Josh Beckett
  Los Angeles Dodgers (NL)
  Sunday, May 25, 2014
Los Angeles Dodgers 6, Philadelphia Phillies 0
Citizens Bank Park (Philadelphia)
25 Clayton Kershaw
  Los Angeles Dodgers (NL)
  Wednesday, June 18, 2014
Los Angeles Dodgers 8, Colorado Rockies 0
Dodger Stadium (Los Angeles)

Here’s our full list from 1 to 30:

No-hitters thrown by franchise

25 Los Angeles Dodgers
  (Brooklyn Atlantics/Brooklyn Grays/Brooklyn Bridegrooms/Brooklyn Grooms/Brooklyn Superbas/Brooklyn Trolley Dodgers/Brooklyn Robins/Brooklyn Dodgers)
18 Boston Red Sox
  (Boston Americans)
18 Chicago White Sox
  (Chicago White Stockings)
16 Cincinnati Reds
  (Cincinnati Red Stockings/Cincinnati Redlegs)
16 San Francisco Giants
  (New York Gothams/New York Giants)
14 Cleveland Indians
  (Cleveland Bluebirds/Cleveland Naps)
14 Atlanta Braves
  (Boston Red Caps/Boston Beaneaters/Boston Doves/Boston Rustlers/Boston Bees/Boston Braves/Milwaukee Braves)
13 Chicago Cubs
  (Chicago White Stockings/Chicago Colts/Chicago Orphans)
12 Philadelphia Phillies
  (Philadelphia Quakers)
11 Oakland Athletics
  (Philadelphia Athletics/Kansas City Athletics)
11 New York Yankees
  (New York Highlanders/Baltimore Orioles)
11 Houston Astros
  (Houston Colt .45’s)
10 Los Angeles Angels
  (California Angels/Anaheim Angels)
10 St. Louis Cardinals
  (St. Louis Browns/St. Louis Perfectos)
9 Baltimore Orioles
  (Milwaukee Brewers/St. Louis Browns)
7 Minnesota Twins
  (Washington Senators)
7 Detroit Tigers
6 Pittsburgh Pirates
  (Pittsburgh Alleghenys)
5 Texas Rangers
5 Miami Marlins
5 Washington Nationals
4 Kansas City Royals
4 Seattle Mariners
2 Arizona Diamondbacks
1 Milwaukee Brewers
1 Toronto Blue Jays
1 Colorado Rockies
1 Tampa Bay Rays
  (Tampa Bay Devil Rays)
1 New York Mets
0 San Diego Padres

Top of post photo from The Jon B. Lovelace Collection of California Photographs in Carol M. Highsmith’s America Project, Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.