The Philadelphia Phillies’ Roy Halladay threw the second no-hitter in post-season history, five years ago today.

On Wednesday, October 6, 2010, in Game 1 of the National League Divisional Series, Halladay no-hit the Cincinnati Reds for a 4-0 win at Citizens Bank Park. It was Halladay’s second no-hitter that season, as he threw a perfecto against the Florida Marlins that June.

The first postseason no-no, of course, was the New York Yankees’ Don Larsen’s perfect game in Game 5 of the 1956 World Series against the Brooklyn Dodgers.

Outside of Halladay’s postseason no-no, the Reds have the longest current regular-season streak of avoiding a no-hitter dating back to Wednesday, June 23, 1971, when the Phils’ Rick Wise no-hit the team. The Cubs gave up that crown in 2015.

The only other pitcher to throw a no-hitter on this date is Matt Kilroy, back in 1886, but it was a regular season matchup. Kilroy, pitching for the American Association’s Baltimore Orioles, no-hit the Pittsburgh Alleghenys for a 6-0 win at Pittsburgh’s Recreation Park.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.