No-no balls at Hall of Fame
One of Randy Johnson's no-no balls in the Baseball Hall of Fame.

One of Randy Johnson’s no-no balls in the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Pitchers Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez and John Smoltz were elected into the Hall of Fame, one year ago today.

Johnson, who won 303 games and lost 166 over a 22-year-career, threw two no-hitters. His first was a 1990 no-no for the Seattle Mariners, the first in that franchise’s history. His second was a 2004 perfect game for the Arizona Diamondbacks, the first no-no in that franchise’s history.

Martínez, who posted a 219-100 record over an 18-year career, threw nine innings of perfect ball against the Padres on June 3, 1995, but his Expos couldn’t score a run and Martínez wound up giving up a hit in the 10th. It’s not considered a no-hitter.

Smoltz, a 22-year pitcher winning 213 games and losing 155, came within two outs of a no-hitter on May 27, 1990. Smoltz was no-hitting the Philadelphia Phillies through 8⅓ when Lenny Dykstra doubled to right. Von Hayes followed with an RBI single, so Smoltz had to settle for a 6-1 complete-game win.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.