No-nos and Perfectos

No no-hitter pitchers will be elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame on Wednesday.

The only player to appear on the 2016 ballot and the official no-hitter list is reliever Billy Wagner, but he pitched just one inning of the Houston Astros’ six-pitcher combined 2003 no-no against the New York Yankees at Yankee Stadium.

That game, which set the record for most pitchers used in a no-no (later tied), included Roy Oswalt (1 inn.), Peter Munro (2⅔ inn.), Kirk Saarloos (1⅓ inn.), Brad Lidge (2 inn.), Octavio Dotel (1 inn.) and Wagner (1 inn.).

Looking ahead, here are no-no players coming up for eligibility:

  • 2017: Jason Varitek, who set the record for most no-hitters caught with four (a mark later tied by Carlos Ruiz)
  • 2018: Kevin Millwood, who threw a no-hitter for the Philadelphia Phillies in 2003 and tossed the first 6 innings of a combined Seattle Mariners no-hitter in 2012
  • 2019: Roy Halladay, who tossed a perfect game for the Philadelphia Phillies against the Florida Marlins in May 2010 and followed it up with an October National League Divisional Series no-no against the Cincinnati Reds, and Oswalt, the 1-inning starter in the Astros’ combined no-no
  • 2020: Josh Beckett, who threw a no-no for the Los Angeles Dodgers against the Phillies in 2014

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.