Two pitchers who threw no-hitters – Christy Mathewson, and Walter Johnson – were voted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame 80 years ago today.

Christy Mathewson and Walter Johnson

Christy Mathewson, left, and Walter Johnson are the Hall’s inaugural Class of 1936.

Mathewson and Johnson joined Ty Cobb, Babe Ruth and Honus Wagner as the Hall’s inaugural Class of 1936. The results were announced to the press four days after the vote.

The five ballplayers would have to wait until 1939 for official induction, as the facility in Cooperstown, New York had yet to be built.

Mathewson, who posted a career record of 373-188 over 17 seasons, threw two no-hitters for the New York Giants:

  • Monday, July 15, 1901
    New York Giants 5, St. Louis Cardinals 0
    Robison Field (St. Louis)
  • Tuesday, June 13, 1905
    New York Giants 1, Chicago Cubs 0
    West Side Park (Chicago)

Johnson, with a record of 417-279 over his 21-year career, threw one no-no for the Washington Senators:

  • Thursday, July 1, 1920
    Washington Senators 1, Boston Red Sox 0
    Fenway Park (Boston)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.